Events & Workshops

Events

All Career Center events are posted in CORE. Once logged in, go to the Events section in the left navigation bar to get started. The event listings in CORE include events hosted by the Career Center, as well as external events that may be of interest to law students. Recordings of select Career Center information sessions and webinars are accessible in the CORE Resource Library. 

View Upcoming Events in CORE

Watch Recorded Programs

Mark your calendar for these signature annual events: 


Workshops

The Career Center offers a series of interactive workshops for students throughout the year. The workshops are designed to demonstrate resources and provide time for students to develop individualized documents and job search plans. All workshops require registration in CORE. Career Center workshops are eligible for Foundations of Practice credit.

Resume workshops cover the skills and techniques to draft a strong resume.  Time is provided in each workshop for students to draft and revise their resume while a career advisor is available to review and answer student questions.

In addition to a short presentation covering the techniques for improving your cover letter, time is provided in each workshop for students to draft and revise their letters while a career advisor is available to review and answer student questions.

This workshop covers the most commonly used resources for identifying internship and other job opportunities.  We will review websites and databases to identify employers, job postings, and strategies for submitting your application.

The informational interviewing workshops will provide tips for identifying contacts, inviting professionals for an informational interview, setting goals and developing a follow up plan.

The Interview Skills Workshop teaches participants how to create a plan for an effective interview. 

The Career Center periodically offers additional workshops and webinars on various topics on an as-needed basis. These may include topics such as public interest funding options, fellowship or scholarship applications, OSCAR, OCI, and other topics.

Fall 2019 Workshop Schedule

Type Day Date Time
Informational Interviews Friday 9/13/2019 12:30 - 1:15 pm
Resumes Thursday 9/19/2019 4:00 - 4:45 pm
Cover Letters Friday 9/27/2019 12:30 - 1:15 pm
Resumes Tuesday 10/1/2019 11:15 am - 12:00 pm
Informational Interviews Friday 10/4/2019 12:30 - 1:15 pm
Cover Letters Wednesday 10/9/2019 12:30 - 1:15 pm
Job Search Resources Friday 10/11/2019 12:30 - 1:00 pm
Cover Letters Monday 10/21/2019 11:00 - 11:45 am
Informational Interviews Friday 10/25/2019 12:30 - 1:15 pm
Resumes Friday 11/1/2019 12:30 - 1:15 pm
Cover Letters Tuesday 11/5/2019 11:15 am - 12:00 pm
Informational Interviews Monday 11/11/2019 11:00 - 11:45 am
Resumes Wednesday 11/20/2019 12:30 - 1:15 pm
Cover Letters Friday 11/22/2019 12:30 - 1:15 pm

Register for Upcoming Workshops in CORE 


Employer in Residence

The Employer in Residence program brings employers to GW Law to meet informally with students. During the fall 2019 semester, Employer in Residence sessions will take place on Wednesdays from 11:30 am - 1:30 pm in the "Soft Lounge" on the law school's first floor. Each week will feature one employer. Students are not required to register in advance and are encouraged to stop by any time during the two-hour window. Employers typically send a number of representatives - including both attorneys and recruiters.

Fall 2019 Employer in Residence Schedule

Employer Day Date Time
U.S. Department of State Wednesday 9/11/2019 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Morrison & Foerster LLP Wednesday 9/18/2019 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Fox Rothschild LLP Wednesday 9/25/2019 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Ropes & Gray LLP Wednesday 10/2/2019 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP Wednesday 10/23/2019 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Baker Botts LLP Wednesday 10/30/2019 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP Wednesday 11/6/2019 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Sullivan & Cromwell LLP Wednesday 11/13/2019 11:30 am - 1:30 pm